Northern Lights reviews

Read people’s experiences with the cannabis strain Northern Lights.

Sort by
October 5, 2016
Beautiful strain. Very peaceful. I couldn't tell which way was north but I saw lights.
July 1, 2016
Loading...Creative
Loading...Euphoric
Loading...Focused
Loading...Happy
Had a very queezy stomach one night. Smoked a large bowl of Northern Lights, within ~45 minutes, complete relief. The effects of the high, wonderful! Everything is lightweight and very floaty. Completely don't give a fuck about anything. Great for anxiety and depression. Just FYI this is a VERY strong psychedelic strain. Not for the first time user, hits hard and keeps on a comin' like a freight train.
May 8, 2012
Cheery and glowy. Emphasis on sound - when everything else feels fuzzy, sound remains pristinely clear. A lot of heady high - but in the odd sense you FEEL it in your head, but it actually remains quite clear-minded. You feel legitimately happy. Physically, you're relaxed and at ease wherever. There's an enjoyable anticipation in your stomach. Very content and peaceful. Another time, I smoked this on the beach at sunset and it provided one of the best high experiences I've ever had in my life. The whole time felt overwhelmingly idyllic. Like I was in a beautiful movie where everything was perfect. Some of the closest I've been to heaven...
January 15, 2017
Loading...Happy
Loading...Hungry
Loading...Relaxed
I'm writing this review will full awareness that it (as well as a vast majority of strains on Leafly) already has a stellar rating. But at the very least, I'll explain to you why this strain is hands down my favorite and why I think everyone should have it in their stash box... Along with being somewhat of a weed-nerd, I'm also a pretty well established food blogger in my city. Needless to say, my appetite has no boundaries and unlike my taste in weed (I'm pretty stuck on Indicas and only recently started dabbling in hybrids), I'm open to eating anything. It goes without saying that food poisoning is no stranger to me. It doesn't happen often at all, but it's definitely something I've accepted as a down-side of running my website and trying as much of my city's food as possible. Let's rewind to about two months ago when I ate a sandwich from a local farm-to-table that I, until that point, gave me no reason to be hesitant of their locally sourced meat. I ate the sandwich with some fries and felt fine for the rest of the night until I went to bed. However, I felt A LOT of things the next morning before going to work, but "fine" was not one of the words I would use to describe how I felt. The rest of the following day was spent at my work desk, slipping slowly deeper into a stomach virus that was worst I've had in years. I ended up leaving work early and spending the rest of my day on the toilet and my bed (but mostly the toilet). After texting a friend about my day, he suggested that I smoke a little weed to ease the stomach pain, at which point I was a bit hesitant. "I don't want to be high AND shitting my brains out." I told him skeptically. But since pepto bismal and tylenol weren't working at all to help ease my stomach pains and (my newly developed) body aches, I decided that I had nothing to lose. I opened my stash box and figured that my batch of Northern Lights (from Native Roots in Boulder, CO), would be as good as any strain for pain relief. Luckily for me, I was right to choose Northern Lights because it took all of five minutes for my stomach pain and body aches to subside into a God-sent feeling of bliss and relaxation. Up until that point, I was struggling with nausia and whole-body muscle aches for a little over 24 hours. And I'm not just talking an acceptable amount of nausea relief... I'm talking TOTAL nausea relief. My stomach pain immediately went away, my appetite came back, and I was able to hold everything down much better. I was in utter amazement of how well it worked! You can even ask my girlfriend, who heard my constant praises of this miracle strain on the couch for the rest of the night. I've always been aware of cannabis' medical uses, but (knocks on wood) never really had anything wrong with me that had outright been immediately cured by it so fast! I already loved this strain as an indica for recreational use, but it is now on my list for "must-have" strains. I highly recommend it to anyone for both medical and recreational purposes. Besides helping with nausea, it's a great strain for staying in and watching Netflix, with a powerful indica body high and excellent floral, almost lavender-ish taste.There's a reason why this strain is so popular. I hope it helps others the same way it did me! [Just an FYI, although I purchased this strain from Native Roots in Boulder, CO, I'm not sure as to whether they still carry this strain anymore. I got it some time back on vacation and haven't been there since.]
May 24, 2012
Loading...Euphoric
Loading...Giggly
Loading...Happy
Loading...Hungry
NL is one of the most complex starins I've came across with. No wonder it's still the shit after half a century of existence. I've heard a whole variety of different descriptions, so I guess you really have to be picky with the genetics, mine were from sensi seeds. Now with the effects: it gets you high as hell everytime, no matter what's your tolerance level. People say its completely indica but mine had a great cerebral effect, it's not an uplifting or speedy efect it's kinda psychedelic, trippy, sometimes creepy if you smoke a lot of it. I swear, sometimes me and my friends start to get really paranoid and triping about everything. It's definatly a stay at home weed, perfect to get baked with some friends and just laugh until your face starts to hurt. The body stone is completely narcotic, but it ain't hipnotic, after the stone (almost 2 hours+/-) wears of you get pretty couch-locked maybe even tired if smoked at night but I wouldn't say it's good for sleeping. One thing that really impressed me is that if you smoke a good joint at night and you go to bed high you'll wake up the next day still a bit high (I know it may sound crazy), thats how strong it is. Sometimes I can't finish a whole joint by myself. Now, the bad aspects is that you can't function well and control yourself near other people. Another bad aspect is the taste, it's very hashy with hints of pine and earth, very overwhelming, not my cup of tea and definetly the worst about this dinossaur strain. One thing to say before closing: if it's real northen lights you'll always get baked as hell!!!!
March 3, 2016
Loading...Euphoric
Loading...Happy
Loading...Relaxed
Loading...Sleepy
I have bipolar disorder, and I must stay away from all sativa's. Northern Lights has been the most perfect indica strain I have ever tried over the years. It calms me, my mind does not race, and I feel serene. I am able to go to bed with ease and stay asleep :) this is very heavy, so you will definitely want to be at home or somewhere you can relax. If you suffer from anxiety, depression, mood swings, insomnia, and racing thoughts, then this is the strain for you.
April 21, 2016
Loading...Euphoric
Loading...Relaxed
Loading...Sleepy
Love it, smoke in a comfortable position, you will be there for awhile. A full body high with a big head change.
January 14, 2017
Great indica strain. Easy to grow resilient, fast flower time. Not that great of bag appeal..But the buzz is one of if not my favorite buzz of all time. You literally melt from head to toe. This strain is great for evening use and is the best strain I've tried for muscle pains. It's a legend

Buy strains with similar effects to Northern Lights

Order online. Same-day pickup or delivery in